Lineups finalized for the M-1 Challenge season opener on Feb. 21


M-1 Global finalized rosters and matchups earlier this week for its 2009 season opener of the M-1 Challenge, which is set to take place on Feb. 21 at the Emerald Queen Casino near Seattle, Washington.

The opener will also feature the debut the Colin Oyama-led Team USA West, which includes Palace Fighting Championships lightweight champion Brian Cobb, undefeated Hawaiian welterweight Dylan Clay, The Ultimate Fighter season seven qualifier Reggie Orr, IFL veteran Raphael Davis, and EliteXC veteran Carl Seumanutafa.

Team USA West is owned by M-1 Vice President of Legal Affairs Steve Bash and California-based promoter Roy Engelbrecht. The team’s alternate roster includes Shane Del Rosario (heavyweight), Ray Lizama (light heavyweight), Giva Santana (middleweight), and Fabio Negao (welterweight).

Team USA West will be making its debut against Team Brazil, which features former “Rio Heroes” Vale Tudo fighter Flavio Alvara and one-time IFL superfight competitor Eduardo Pamplona.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: